End of another month

The doctor has put me off sick for another  4 weeks I don’t think I’m going to be able to return to work. I now realise that when I was off sick the beginning of the year my Managers should not have put me through a formal sickness process now that I have read the new sickness policy from September 2016 it states

This process is used for all sickness absence apart from long-term, terminal or underlying health conditions (see
the section on Long Term Absence for more information).

As my illness was an underlying health condition I should not have been called in every 4 weeks, in fact, these meetings probably had an adverse effect on my health and even from the 1st meeting I was given the date of the final meeting and told this would be dismissal I was reminded of this at every meeting,  I was referred to Fitforwork at my very first meeting , this did not bother me at all as I knew I was ill and I think my Managers were hoping Fitforwork were going to send me immediately back in …….. this, of course, did not happen and I was given a Fit note from them until mid-May. My managers not happy with this then mentioned the word dismissal again and “forced” me back to work, taking no notice whatsoever of the Return To Work programme that Fitforwork recommended. I cut my hours down myself as I knew that I could not manage the hours I was on before sickness, this has left me not paying any National Insurance not being eligible for SSP and I am now in the process of trying to claim ESA

I have had no contact with work since I have been off apart from me phoning to say I have another sick note etc

Life wasn’t easy when I did go back. I was constantly being called up to the office for one thing or another, there was a VERY long walk from the car park to my work that I really couldn’t manage due to the tachycardia and low blood pressure, were they bothered? Not at all.

I was dizzy constantly, my manager did ask me one day how I was feeling I said very dizzy, she said you haven’t got Gin in that water bottle have you…………..totally inappropriate I think, her idea of a joke? Sorry I wasn’t feeling it I felt totally humiliated by this

I really do not want to go back to work even if I had some miraculous cure overnight I feel I cannot go back to work for this company. I know I am not the only one that feels like this and I know that other people have left too because of the way they have been treated and nothing is done about it.

My pay has been wrong for the last 4-5 months I keep getting an adjustment in dribs and drabs but now finally I have the Payroll Head Office address and with the help of an accountant friend I will pursue it via that channel.

I might add that my company knew when I was taken on that I was disabled, my references also stated this. Why employ disabled people and then treat them unfairly?

Not a pleasant read I’m sure but an honest one.

 

Leave a Reply

